Fringe_Nerd |||

So, I’m learning something new

The past couple of months, I’ve had this project I’ve really wanted to make. My friend Alex makes one of my favorite board games, Giga-Robo. The main online resource for this game is the Board Game Geek forums, but It would be really cool to have a resource for the game similar to netrunner.db. Allowing users to create new builds, and share them around.

Now, I’m not exactly a web programmer. To be honest, I kindof hate it. At least, my previous experiences with web development have made me hate it. But, like most other things I don’t really like, maybe It’s me? Maybe web development isn’t that bad. (Maybe this has something to do with me becoming a hardware / Firmware developer?).

But, I want this thing to exist for this game I like more than I hate coding for the internet, so it seems like it’s time to learn a new thing, and find parts of web development that I don’t totally hate. After scrubbing through a few different stacks, I landed on c# for the backend, and React for the front end, and I think it’s working out alright.

I’ll be posting up things I learn, and eventually using this blog as Documentation for the site, which will be completely open source. If you have a board game / card game you’d like to give a similar treatment, feel free to fork and make it your own.

So yeah, if you wanted to learn the highest level of web programming from a low level Firmware engineer, this is the place. Maybe I’ll end up answering some questions that might not be answered from that perspective other places.

Up next Intro.Bust() Commit Log - Scroll Boxes and Filters So, this one was kind of big, we added some functionality to the website! The commit number is 0bcd2fb66256d411785c6fdec730805a98d7cf33, You can
Latest posts So, you want to pick up a Bass? The definitive guide for the best possible platform for music discourse Commit Log - Scroll Boxes and Filters So, I’m learning something new Intro.Bust()